Phalanx Forum Index
Phalanx Forum Index Guild Wars
Phalanx Forum Index Phalanx Clan Forum
Phalanx Forum Index
FAQ    Search    Memberlist     GW BBCode Creator    Register    Profile    Log in to check your private messages    Log in 

HOWTO: play on the Phalanx server

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Phalanx Forum Index -> old school Half-Life
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Cnegurozka
Deadly Hero (4)
Deadly Hero (4)


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 587
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 18:33    Post subject: HOWTO: play on the Phalanx server Reply with quote

Howto play on my server:

  • 1) Grab Half-Life at my Download Page

  • 2) Start Half-Life and make your Configuration

  • 3)(i) If you have my "half-life pack" just start the game, click on multiplayer->internet games. After waiting some time, you should see a list of at least 3 servers. If you don't see them, try clicking update.

  • 3)(ii) If you are using another version you need to download the woncom.lst file. Just copy it in you /half-life/valve directory and proceed with 3.)(i).

  • 3)(iii) To join the server manually start half-life, go to the console and type:
    Code:
    connect phalanx.game-server.cc:<port>

    or
    Code:
    connect 88.198.134.210:<port>

    where port is:
    27015 for my Counter-Strike 6.1 server
    27016 for my Firearms server
    27017 for my Deathmatch server
    27018 for my Counter-Strike 5.2 server

    Warning for Counter-Strike: Your Mod directory must be named "cstrk61"/"cstrk52" !



A few handy command options when starting half-life:
-numericping //Show ping as number, not as "color"
-console //Give us access to console
-32bpp //Render in 32 bit colors, I'm not sure with what graphic cards this works

To activate them all make your half-life shortcut look like this:
Code:
"c:\<somewhere>\hl.exe" -numericping -console -32bpp -nointro


Last edited by Cnegurozka on Thu Jul 03, 2008 16:12; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sk8ter_Boi
Player (0)


Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 8


PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 23:37    Post subject: Reply with quote

hı cnegurozka I played cs 5.2 versıyon for 4 years wıth my friends 2000-2004

If you are still playing this versıon of cs I want to join you. I have already cs5.2 setted up on my computer. I can play 5.2 on lan but now I coundnt connect thıs server. I have added thıs server whit thıs ıp 88.198.134.211:27018 ıt seems at my list but I cant connect it. I got an error that says me "you cannot connect to a server runnıng custom game cstrk52 until you instal the custom game" according to thıs error I thınk I have wrong versıon but I m sure I have the right versıon of cs 5.2
so what do you think about my problem?

ten mınutes before I heve downloaded 5.2 version at your link on this site then I setted up it but the error is the same.

can you help me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cnegurozka
Deadly Hero (4)
Deadly Hero (4)


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 587
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 23:42    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is exactly what the message says: The counter-strike folder on the server is named cstrk52 for CS Beta 5.2. So you need to rename your folder, too. In the same way the CS Beta 6.1 folder is named cstrk61, so you can have both installed at the same time.

But I'm afraid that not many people are playing 5.2, we only play 6.1 regularly 2-3 times a week.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sk8ter_Boi
Player (0)


Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 8


PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 0:02    Post subject: Reply with quote

I renamed my folder's name as you said then I get an different error that says "you can not connect to a server which is operating a different protocol version".

I have lots of friends enjoys playing 5.2 also 6.1. we cant play on lan because we are in different cities so we need server to play:D. I will invite them, too. if you give us permision Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cnegurozka
Deadly Hero (4)
Deadly Hero (4)


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 587
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 0:06    Post subject: Reply with quote

Of course, you may play as much as you want. We're always happy about players!

Which Half-Life Version do you have installed? My Server are running 1.0.1.6, as it is the last version with the old net code.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sk8ter_Boi
Player (0)


Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 8


PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 0:18    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm I think I need to get new half life. I will download it from link you gave. I think it will take a long time. I will write tomorrow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sk8ter_Boi
Player (0)


Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 8


PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 8:27    Post subject: Reply with quote

I connected the server but there is a problem with the pings. ıt changes every second and avarage 250. It's probably from distance and internet conection speed. game cant be played with this pings, I m sorry. I will try with more faster connection. thank you for all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cnegurozka
Deadly Hero (4)
Deadly Hero (4)


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 587
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:23    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, the problem is that the server has to run in LAN mode, since the original WON is disabled. That makes it unplayable with high ping. If your ping is ~100 it's ok.
But it's always about the correct settings:

rate should be like 60% of your connection speed.

fps_modem, fps_lan should be as low as possible, with a slow connection. The maximum you can set is 72, but that will only work well with a good Ping.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sk8ter_Boi
Player (0)


Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 8


PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 20:28    Post subject: Reply with quote

bro I have a problem with the cs5.2 playing on lan. When the game got crowded server pc is falling down. with 2-3 players there is no problem but when more players log in the game(6-7<or higher), server pc is falling down from the game so all players too. what do you think? what is the problem?

sorry for my english. I hope you can understand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cnegurozka
Deadly Hero (4)
Deadly Hero (4)


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 587
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 20:37    Post subject: Reply with quote

What pc (cpu, ram) is running the server? And is it running the game at the same time?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sk8ter_Boi
Player (0)


Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 8


PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 20:50    Post subject: Reply with quote

512 mb ram and cpu is amd but dont know its frequency (I think pc is too good enough for this game.) running with windows xp.
and yes it is running the game at the same time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sk8ter_Boi
Player (0)


Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 8


PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 21:09    Post subject: Reply with quote

this computers based home pc and we are playing on lan. computers are connected to each other with network connection also have internet connection like internet cafe, you know. there is no error with cs 1.5 or 1.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cnegurozka
Deadly Hero (4)
Deadly Hero (4)


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 587
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 21:21    Post subject: Reply with quote

And the server is running as seperate dedicated?
Check if the ports from client and server are different.

And maybe try to set the server to "high priority".
And the MHz might be important.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sk8ter_Boi
Player (0)


Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 8


PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 21:58    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dont think its about pc's ability also connection system. 5 years ago we were playing on more worse pc than now we have. we were choosing random pc for the server also it was running game. can it be because of win xp? I m trying to guess what is the difference. and first difference is win xp and the second is more powerfull pc Very Happy second is cannot be reason. maybe reason is win xp or game configrations. I know the people had a same problem on playing cs5.2 with passing win xp from 98. and they solved this problem but I dont know how? Sad I will ask them if I find them:D

I will write server pc's error text (I cant write now) its only single line and 2-3 words.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cnegurozka
Deadly Hero (4)
Deadly Hero (4)


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 587
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 22:03    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its on lan you said, connection should be fine then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Phalanx Forum Index -> old school Half-Life All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group - Design: niedermayr.cc
Guild Wars 2004 ArenaNet, Inc. All rights reserved. ArenaNet, Arena.Net and the ArenaNet logo are trademarks or registered trademarks of NCsoft Corporation in the U.S. and/or other countries.